How do you tell if a pomegranate is ripe?

The ripest pomegranates aren't shaped like balls. Look for flattened, angular sides rather than perfectly rounded spheres. Pomegranates vary in color from light to dark red. No matter what the color, the real clues to ripeness are the smoothness and firmness of its tough, leathery skin.