What is double boiling?

Typically a double boiler is a pot on the stovetop with water under another pot containing items to be prepared, applying gentle heat from the evaporating moisture. It's used for tasks like making delicate hollandaise sauce, melted chocolate, or preparing custards such as creme anglaise.