What is the chemical compound known as rubbing alcohol?

Rubbing alcohol consists of a mixture of isopropyl alcohol (also known as 2-propanol) and water. It is generally either 70% or 90% alcohol by volume. Read the label on the bottle to see which you have.

---

Rubbing alcohol is Isopropyl alcohol generally is fifty to seventy percent strength. Medical alcohol is again Isopropyl alcohol in ninety to one hundred percent strength.