Are pickles and cucumbers the same thing?

Technically, no. Cucumbers are fruit that grow on vines and can be processed to become pickles. Pickles are not fruit and do not grow, but they are made from the fruit named cucumber.

---

Many foods, including vegetables, as well as some meats and eggs can be pickled, but cucumbers are among the most common.