Why is red velvet cake red?

red velvet was made with cocoa powder, buttermilk and vinegar. It's the chemical reaction between the cocoa powder (which contains anthocyanin, a pH-sensitive antioxidant that reacts to acids) and the vinegar and buttermilk. This reaction makes the cake its famous red-tinted color.