What is a freeze plug?

Freeze plugs, also known as core or frost plugs, prevent coolant from leaking from your car. Freeze plugs are very important when it comes to the maintenance of a car, especially in warmer climates. Without coolant, your car's engine can reach unstable conditions, causing a breakdown.