What are dryer sheets made of?

Most dryer sheets are made of non-woven polyester and a surfactant, a compound that contains a positive charge and a fatty molecule such as an ammonium salt or a silicone oil. Manufacturers are not required to list other ingredients such as those added to provide that fresh smell.