Why is a cobweb called a cobweb?

According to Dundee Science Centre, "Spider webs are called cobwebs because the old English word for spider was coppe. Turns out that cobwebs are only produced by Theridiidae (cobweb spiders) and Linyphiidae (money spiders) - all others should be just known as spider webs."