Who is johnhenry?

Although made into a myth via the Ballad of John Henry, a nineteen-year-old from New Jersey by that name was convicted of theft in Virginia in 1866, sentenced to ten years and put to work building the C&O Railroad. It was there where he legendarily competed against a steam-powered drill.