Who owns the largest home in the united states?

The largest house in the United States is the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, North Carolina, which is owned by William Amherst Vanderbilt Cecil, Jr. The house is 175,856 square feet and was completed in 1895 for George Washington Vanderbilt II. Cecil inherited the house on his mother's death.