What is the song daniel by elton john about?

Regarding "Daniel", performed by Elton John, Bernie Taupin wrote the lyrics after reading an article in either Time or Newsweek about a Vietnam War veteran who had been wounded, and wanted to get away from the attention he was receiving when he came back home.