What was the first animal sent into space in nineteen forty seven?

They weren't animals, they were insects. On Feb. 20, 1947, the United States put fruit flies aboard captured German V-2 rockets to study radiation exposure at high altitudes.

---

The first animals sent into space were fruit flies aboard a U.S.-launched rocket on February 20, 1947 from White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico. The purpose of the experiment was to explore the effects of radiation exposure at high altitudes.