Why can't chinchillas get wet?

A chinchilla should not get wet under any circumstances. Chinchillas have extremely dense fur which holds water or wetness on the fur and will dry very slowly. A chinchilla getting wet can lead to fungal infections, respiratory infections and potentially even death