What is the tragedy of plagueis the wise?

Darth Plagueis was a Dark Lord of the Sith, so powerful and so wise he could use the Force to create life. He had such a knowledge of the dark side that he could even keep the ones he cared about from dying. He taught his apprentice everything he knew, then his apprentice killed him in his sleep.