What was the longest hockey game ever played?

The longest game ever played was game one of the semifinal round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs between Detroit and Montreal in 1936. It ended when Detroit's Mud Bruneteau scored the game's only goal in the sixth overtime period after 176 minutes and 30 seconds of gameplay.