Can you use vegetable oil to season a cast iron pan?

Can you use vegetable oil to season a cast iron pan? All cooking oils and fats can be used for seasoning cast iron, but based on availability, affordability, effectiveness, and having a high smoke point, Lodge recommends vegetable oil, melted shortening, or canola oil, like our Seasoning Spray

---

Yes, but grape seed oil is better.