What was the first animal to ever exist?

According to a 2016 study, the bio-marker 24-isopropylcholestane (a type of cholesterol), has allowed scientists to determine that the oldest (and first known) animal on earth was a Sea Sponge, which was alive 640 million years ago in the Cryogenian period.