What does a. d. mean after a year?

A.D. stands for Anno Domini, which is Latin for “year of our Lord,” and it means the number of years since the birth of Jesus Christ.

---

“A.D.” stands for a Latin phrase: anno domini which translates to “in the year of the Lord”—the year Jesus was born.