Is granulated sugar and powdered sugar the same thing?

Granulated sugar and powdered sugar are different. The difference being in the size of their particles. Granulated sugar does not dissolve as easily and offers a more grainy texture. Where as powdered sugar has been blended to a fine powder and is lighter and less dense.