When was caller i. d. invented?

Theodore George Paraskevakos in 1971 developed the first caller ID prototype. The prototypes were a hit with the telephone companies. New Jersey Bell was the first telephone company to offer the service to it's customers in 1988. Although, there seems to be some debate on the subject in general.

---

The service, known as Caller ID, was pioneered by New Jersey Bell in 1987. It was made available to customers in New Jersey in December 1988 and is now spreading throughout the country.