What are the steps of digestion?

The 4 basic steps of digestion are 1)ingestion: food into the mouth, 2)digestion: physical & chemical breakdown in the mouth through the esophagus & in the stomach, 3)absorption: the large & small intestines absorb nutrients, & finally 4)elimination: waste called feces out the anus.