Is there such thing as a banana seed?

Yes, the natural range of the wild species of bananas, which belong to the genus Musa are filled with seeds. However, the domestication of the banana is the process that transformed the banana full of seeds into parthenocarpic seedless fruits that develop in the absence of pollination.