How do you know when a dragon fruit is ready to eat?

When a Dragon Fruit is ripe it has a bright pink color with smooth skin. The dragon fruit should not be rock hard. Instead, let it ripen a little until the flesh gives a little bit, similar to a ripe avocado. If the dragon fruit feels mushy, it is overripe.