How is soft serve ice cream made?

Soft serve ice cream is different from other types of ice cream, in that it typically has more air whipped into it during the freezing process, and is kept at a warmer temperature than hard ice cream. Soft serve ice cream has smaller ice crystals, which makes it feel smoother and creamier.