What's a substitute for frosting?

Cream cheese, powdered sugar, jams, jellies, marmalades, honey butter, chocolate, and caramel are may all be pleasing substitutes for frosting in different situations.

---

Substitutions 4 frosting include, 4 example: fresh fruit slices plain or in a simple sugar liquid, custard sauce poured over the top of individual slices, or a scoop of ice cream. 4 cupcakes, another example is 2 cut out a cone shape from the top, fill with lemon curd, & put the top back on