Does ammonia kill ants?

According to tests performed by the Agriculture Department, a solution of ammonia and water will only kill a limited number of ants, and only temporarily driving away their nests.

---

While ammonia may temporarily drive away a nest of ants, it will not kill the ants and they may return.