What's the pin opticon?

British social theorist Jeremy bentham invented The panopticon. A disciplinary concept with a central observation tower surrounded by a circle of prison cells. Guards can see out to cells. But the inmates can't see into the tower. Prisoners will never know whether or not they are being watched.