What is the difference between rotation and revolution?

A revolution is where something proceeds all the way around another point, whereas in a rotation the parts of the object turn. This can be thought of as the difference between dragging an object around a screen (a revolution since the top stays on top) or spinning the object around (a rotation)

---

Rotation happens when an item turns on its own axis. Revolution happens when an item circles a second object. In our solar system, the earth rotates on its axis while it revolves around the sun.