When were donuts invented?

According to Smithsonian Magazine, the first donut was invented in the mid-19th century by a New England ship captain’s mother named Elizabeth Gregory. Legend has it that Mrs. Gregory discovered her claim to fame by deep-frying dough and rolling it in nutmeg, cinnamon, and lemon rind.