Could the earth break apart?

Yes, a head-on collision with a planet the size of Earth would probably break the Earth into pieces. A current thinking is that when the Solar System was very young a planet the size of Mars hit the Earth. So much stuff was thrown into orbit that (after a ring) it eventually formed Earth's moon.