Who found tennessee?

The first European to arrive in Tennessee was Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto in 1541. He claimed the land for Spain, but it would be over 100 years later until Europeans began to settle the area. In 1714, Charles Charleville built a small fort in Tennessee called Fort Lick.