How did stevie wonder lose his sight?

Stevie Wonder was born blind. He was born six weeks premature, which along with the oxygen-rich atmosphere in the hospital incubator, resulted in retinopathy of prematurity, a condition in which the growth of the eyes is aborted and causes the retinas to detach.