Why do people have christmas trees?

Why people started having Christmas trees isn't entirely clear. The tradition of evergreens at midwinter festivals began in ancient times, signifying the victory of life and light over death and darkness. Connecting them to Christmas likely began in 16th century Germany and spread across Europe.