How fast does the earth spin?

At Earth's equator, the speed of Earth's spin is about 1,000 miles per hour (1,600 km per hour).

---

At the equator the earth is spinning about 1,000 miles per hour.

---

The earth rotates once every 23 hours, 56 minutes and 4.09053 seconds, called the sidereal period, and its circumference is roughly 40,075 kilometers. Thus, the surface of the earth at the equator moves at a speed of 460 meters per second--or roughly 1,000 miles per hour.