Where does the term teetotaler come from?

Teetotalism is the practice or promotion of total personal abstinence from alcoholic beverages. A person who practices teetotalism is called a teetotaler or is simply said to be teetotal. The teetotalism movement was first started in Preston, England, in the early 19th century.