What is a parmesan rind?

Parmesan rinds are the rind from a round of authentic Parmesan cheese, like crust on a loaf of bread. It has all the flavor of the cheese, but it's mostly inedible. Adding a Parmesan rind to any sauce or soup will instantly kick up the flavor.