What is a hot and tot?

Hottentot is a term that was historically used to refer to the Khoikhoi, the non-Bantu indigenous nomadic pastoralists of South Africa. Use of the term is now offensive, the preferred name for the non-Bantu indigenous people of the Western Cape area being Khoi, Khoikhoi, or Khoisan.