Is it cantaloupe a berry?

Believe it or not, a cantaloupe is actually a type of berry called a Pepo. They have thick rinds. many flat seeds, and pulpy flesh. Other examples of a pepo would be watermelon, cucumbers, squash, and pumpkins.