Why is a ship's bottom always painted red?

The Reason Why Ships Are Often Painted Red on the Bottom. ... The copper gave the paint a red tint. By reducing the muck that naturally collects on the hull, ships can maintain their structural integrity and avoid being weighed down by gunk like seaweed that would reduce drag.