What is a aura borealis?

An aurora, polar lights, aurora borealis, or aurora australis, is a natural light display in the night sky. They result from disturbances of earth's magnetosphere caused by solar wind. The ionization and excitation of atmospheric constituents emit light of varying color and complexity.