Does fennel taste like liquorish?

Fennel can be used from the bulb to the seeds to the leaves to the stalks. Typically, fennel is associated with a licorice or anise-like taste, which is true, but this is really only the fronds (or the leafy part which kind of resembles dill but does not taste like dill).