Who is yancy derringer?

Yancy Derringer, an ex-Confederate soldier turned gambler, was a suave lady's man in New Orleans, Louisiana. In reality, he was working for John Colton, the civil administrator of the city. Yancy's job was to prevent crime. His companion was Pahoo-Ka-Ta-Wah an Indian who watches Yancy's back.