What is louis and clark?

Meriwether Lewis & William Clark are best known for their expedition from the Mississippi River to the West Coast & back. The expedition, called the Corps of Discovery, was President Thomas Jefferson's visionary project to explore the American West. It began in May of 1804 & ended in September 1806.