When was the first karate kid made?

Principal photography began on October 31, 1983, and filming was completed on December 16, 1983. The film was released in the U.S. on June 22, 1984. Grossing $100,000,000 at the box office in the U.S. and Canada, it was one of 1984's highest grossing films.

---

The Karate Kid was made in 1983, and released to theaters in June, 1984.