What is the average reading pace?

The average reading speed of most adults is around 200 to 250 words per minute.

---

Based on the analysis of 190 studies (18,573 participants), we estimate that the average silent reading rate for adults in English is 238 words per minute (wpm) for non-fiction and 260 wpm for fiction.