Who invented rabbits?

European wild rabbits evolved about 4,000 years ago in Iberia. Visiting Phoenician merchants referred to part of Iberia as 'I-shephan-im' which means land of the rabbits. Translated as 'Hispania' or Spain. The European Rabbit was first discovered by the Phoenicians, back in 1000 BC.