How do you clear up bluegrass?

Water the lawn infrequently and deeply. Deep watering goes down further than the short root system of the weed. Cut the grass no shorter than 3 to 4 inches (7.6 to 10 cm.). Fertilize the lawn regularly. Apply a pre-emergent weed control product in late summer.