What is mulch made of?

A variety of materials are used as mulch: grass clippings, leaves, hay, straw, kitchen scraps, shredded bark, whole bark nuggets, sawdust, shells, woodchips, shredded newspaper, cardboard, wool, animal manure, etc.

---

Mulch is usually, and most commonly, partly decomposed vegetative matter, such as leaves, tree bark or roots. Mulch can also refer to other products used for the same purpose, such as stones, wood chips or even, bits of rubber.