How do you get lavender in minecraft?

Lavender is a magenta flower which can be found in the Lavender Fields biome. It can be crafted into purple dye. Whilst it can be mistaken for allium (or vice versa), it is quite different. You can only find it directly-- it is not in the creative inventory and there is no give command.