Where did the term cockpit come from?

The term "cockpit" derives from an early 18th-century nautical term denoting an area in the aft lower deck of a man-of-war where the wounded were taken, later coming to mean ‘the ‘pit’ or well from which a yacht is steered. This led to the meaning as the place housing the controls of other vehicles.